Facebook Twitter


Submit a Complaint

The District is the agency responsible for ensuring healthful air quality in Monterey, San Benito and Santa Cruz Counties. You can help us achieve our clean air goals by reporting excessive dust, odors, smoke, or other air contaminants.

This web page describes how the District evaluates, responds to, and resolves air quality complaints.

For more information please contact the Compliance Division at 831-647-9411.


The District is governed by a Board of Directors appointed from the elected governing bodies of our member jurisdictions. The Board of Directors appoints citizens to the District's Advisory Committee as well as to the Hearing Board.


The air district was created by the Monterey County Board of Supervisors in 1965. In 1968 Santa Cruz County joined Monterey County to form a unified district. In 1969 the state designated the counties of Monterey, San Benito, and Santa Cruz as the North Central Coast Air Basin. On July 1, 1974 the Monterey and Santa Cruz County Unified Air Pollution Control District merged with the San Benito County Air Pollution Control District to form the Monterey Bay Unified Air Pollution Control District.